Written by

OlgaNunez

I was born in Barcelona and have lived in the UK for many years now. I’m a writer, translator (English-Spanish and vice-versa) and I’m a medical doctor and worked in Forensic Psychiatry many years. I also have a BA and a PhD in American Literature and Film, and a Masters in Criminology. I’ve always loved books and apart from writing them I review them often.
I write a bit of everything, check my books for more information and my about page for links.
My blog is bilingual, English and Spanish.

Comments (32)

  1. dgkaye says:

    Wow, Fabulous concept for a book. Thanks for the post and entry Olga. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Debby. I agree. I read the reviews of the Darcy Monologues and thought it sounded great, so when Rosie asked the members of the group I could not resist. I am planning on reading a few of the other books by the authors too. They sound fantastic. Have a great day!

      1. dgkaye says:

        Thanks Olga. Have a fabulous week! 🙂 x

          1. dgkaye says:

            Thanks. 🙂

    2. Christina Boyd says:

      Thank you– hope you can add it to your to-be -read pile! Super proud of the finished a collection.

      1. I’m not surprised! Please, count on my blog for sharing any future projects Christina and all your wonderful authors.

      2. dgkaye says:

        Already added Christina! 🙂

  2. Great giveaways to go with this, thanks Olga.

    1. Thanks for the information about it, Rosie. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. And I agree. The giveaways are delicious!

    2. Christina Boyd says:

      Rosie Amber– why yes, that’s an international giveaway fron15 autographed books and the other includes an autograph by Colin Firth & Jennifer Ehle!

  3. Hmm… Maybe it’s because I haven’t halfway finished my coffee, but I admit the title confused me. So this is NOT Jane Austen’s work at all — just based on her characters. I suppose that’s the highest compliment to a writer — when others want to take our characters and expand on them, give our “worlds” continuing life. As long as we’re moldering in the grave for a hundred years anyway. Not so much while we’re still living.
    Thanks for this detailed review, Olga. Touching but not unto tears… and particularly if it made you laugh, then I would love to read this one. I’ve always enjoyed Austen enormously, and those settings.
    Oops… I’m supposed to be writing in this moment before work, not blogging… No wonder my word count is so behind! 😀 Have a terrific Tuesday. Hugs.

    1. Thanks, Teagan. Write, write! Yes, the idea is to explore some of the characters that appear in Jane Austen’s stories (as I say there are quotes of Jane Austen about the characters) but do not have big parts and readers might feel intrigued but there is little to go by. Yes, it is a big thing and there are many books that are either reimaginings or sequels to well-known classics. Enjoy your day and I hope I haven’t disrupted your writing. 🙂

      1. Ha! The disruption was not you Olga. I seem to be focused on work woes, trying to find a home so I can relocate, and everything but writing — particularly so today. I haven’t written a thing today… And now, when I could maybe do a little during lunch, instead I’m hoping my meeting this afternoon will be cancelled. It will be so hard to plaster a smile on my mouth in the face of all the stinking BS… but I will.

        Yes, I understand the concept. Your review was clear and quite helpful. I was just a little bleary-eyed (headed) when I opened the page early this morning. Huge hugs, my friend.

        1. Thanks, Teagan. I can imagine, and I’ve seen some of your comments about the house hunting situation. Even in my case, when I’m not actually looking for a place (although I’ll have to sell my house here) it’s a big headache, so yes, indeed. Funny you should mention bleary-eyed because this morning both my eyes decided they’d rather wait until it was light outside and didn’t seem too happy…
          I hope the meeting does not come to pass… Big hugs to you too.

    2. Christina Boyd says:

      Yes, we stayed true to canon in writing the histories or side stories to each Austen masterpiece. And when you read it, keep in mind we couldn’t be like Jane Bennet and make them all good. And not all could be redeemed but maybe by knowing them better, their disposition is better understood. 😉

      1. LOL. Love the Jane Bennet comment, Christina. Wishing all concerned huge success.

  4. Sophia Rose says:

    Lovely and thoughtful review, Olga. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review as well as being a delightful hostess our blog tour.

    1. Thanks for the opportunity, Sophia. I hope this will be the first of many tours and books. Good luck!

  5. This sounds like a book that not only has an interesting idea behind it, but also a huge market waiting to devour it!
    I wish them every success, and feel sure it will be a big hit.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. Thanks, Pete. Yes, there’s a voracious reading appetite for the period, and whilst the classics are always going to be there, new variations will be welcomed too. Jane Austen has managed to capture readers’ imagination. I wonder if she would have believed if anybody had told her so many years back? Have a great day.

    2. Christina Boyd says:

      Thanks, Pete. We hope readers will embrace it and love the collection with the same passion and affection it was written.

  6. Muchas gracias, Olga, for taking the time to read and perceptively review Dangerous to Know. And thanks to Rosie Amber for bringing Christina’s anthology to your attention in the first place. We’re honoured by your team’s participation in our blog tour.
    On a personal note, I appreciated your recognition of my contribution as the farce it was intended to be. John Thorpe’s character was certainly a challenge, and I soon gave up trying to redeem him. More often than not, I just wanted to toss him in the drink. 😉
    Thanks again, Olga, for sharing your opinion of our rakes, rogues, and a certain buffoon.
    Good luck to your readers in the fabulous giveaways.

    1. Thanks, J. Marie. Fue un placer. Rosie always finds the best books. I think John deserved your treatment! An excellent collection and I really enjoyed your contribution to it. All the best!

  7. beaunorthwrites says:

    Love this review! So glad you loved Calliope as much as I loved writing her! Thanks so much for being part of our release, we love to love those bad boys!

    1. I adored her and she is the perfect match for Fitzwilliam. I am sure they’d never be bored! Thanks very much for writing the story and for the whole project. A true joy!

  8. karenmcoxbooks says:

    Hi Olga – thanks so much for your lovely and thoughtful review of the anthology. It was a little “out of the box”, compared with most of the Austenesque fare out there, but I thought it was a great idea and really wanted to be a part of it 🙂 Thanks, too, to Rosie Amber for connecting you with us.

    1. Thanks, Karen. Yes, it is. I am always intrigued by the psychology of the characters and all of you did a great job getting inside their heads (even the not very pleasant ones). Thanks for the opportunity and best of luck.

  9. Mary Preston says:

    Thank you for such a great review.

    1. Thanks very much. A thoroughly enjoyable book and great giveaways.

  10. I have read most of Jane Austen’s books, Olga. She is not my favourite, as I find her female characters to be a bit silly and wishy washy, but this book about the male characters does sound intriguing.

    1. Thanks, Robbie. I like some of her characters more than others, but she was a very good observer of society and its mores. This is a great book with very interesting female characters, so you might want to have a look. Have a great day.

Don't be shy! Tell me something!