Written by

OlgaNunez
I was born in Barcelona and have lived in the UK for many years now. I'm a writer, translator (English-Spanish and vice-versa) and I'm a medical doctor and worked in Forensic Psychiatry many years. I also have a BA and a PhD in American Literature and Film, and a Masters in Criminology. I've always loved books and apart from writing them I review them often. I write a bit of everything, check my books for more information and my about page for links. My blog is bilingual, English and Spanish.

Comments (14)

    1. Thanks, Rosie. A very interesting combination of fiction and biography and a fascinating historical period. Take care.

  1. I’m seeing reviews for this all over the place and over on Linda’s Book Bag there’s an interview with the author. The book does sound intriguing – but I may wait until the price comes down a bit – it’s a bit on the expensive side for me.

    1. Thanks, Mary. Yes, I know what you mean. I have quite a few books on my wish list, and Amazon is good at letting me know when they are on offer. I must check Linda’s post as well. The author sent me some comments when he read the review, and it’s quite a story. I hope you’re feeling OK this week. Stay safe.

  2. Thanks for this mindful review, Olga. For some reason, I was expecting an (at least somewhat) whimsical story. I do like the setting though. The hidden compartment and the piano intrigue me. It actually sounds like an interesting piece just to study how (the style) it was written. Hmmm.
    Stay safe and well. Hugs on the wing.

    1. Thanks, Teagan. Yes, the whimsy perhaps comes from the cover, which pulled me in as well. I’ve never been one for writing memoirs or biographies, and I know it requires a lot of talent and skill, especially when you don’t have all the information you’d like. I think you’d appreciate the period detail and the historical setting as well. Stay safe.

  3. I love the sound of the hisroical period in this book, Olga. I will add it to my wish list, and wait until it is cheaper.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. Thanks, Pete. I thought you might be interested in the book, as I know you enjoy history and stories set in certain historical periods. The author does a great job of bringing the era to life. Stay safe, and thanks for alerting me to the issues with the comments. I’m checking around. (I know some plugins were updated, and sometimes that sends the website into a spin for a while).

  4. dgkaye says:

    Right up my alley Olga. My favorite kind of reads. Running over to the Zon again. Thanks for the recommend. <3

    1. Thanks, Debby. I thought of you as well as I read this book. Stay safe and keep strong. ♥

      1. dgkaye says:

        Lol, of course you did! <3

  5. I think this book sounds fascinating, Olga. Some books are written for a specific type of audience, for example people with an interest in history, and don’t necessarily appeal of all readers. After all, how many people read and enjoy classic books?

    1. You’re right, Robbie. There are many people interested in history, but not all of them are keen on reading books, especially not from an individual’s perspective, and not somebody known or famous. I am one of those people who enjoy reading the classics (at least some of them!), although there are quite a few I haven’t read yet. Thanks for your comment and have a great week!

Don't be shy! Tell me something!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.