Written by

OlgaNunez
I was born in Barcelona and have lived in the UK for many years now. I'm a writer, translator (English-Spanish and vice-versa) and I'm a medical doctor and worked in Forensic Psychiatry many years. I also have a BA and a PhD in American Literature and Film, and a Masters in Criminology. I've always loved books and apart from writing them I review them often. I write a bit of everything, check my books for more information and my about page for links. My blog is bilingual, English and Spanish.

Comments (32)

  1. Wow, it sounds like a nail-biter! It’d make an AWESOME movie! Great review, Olga.:-)

    1. Thanks, Priscilla. I kept thinking about the movie in my head as I read the novel, so I’m sure you’re right. Very juicy roles for several actors as well. Stay well!

  2. Have you seen the film ‘Talk Radio’? I though Eric Bogosian was outstanding in that film, and believe it to be sadly underated. Bogosian co-wrote the play on which the film is based, and the script is electric. If this book is anything like that, then it would definitely interest me, Olga.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. Thanks, Pete. Yes, I watched it, although a long while ago, although it made quite an impression. The beginning of the book brought the film to mind (I haven’t read the play, but I assume the adaptation must be very close to it). It later becomes more Die Hard, but I think it would grab you, especially if you know what to expect. Stay safe, my friend, and sorry about the ongoing issues with the blog. Let’s hope I manage to fix them before I decide to quit it altogether. 😉

  3. Sounds like an exciting read, Olga! Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thanks, Mark. It is! Stay safe!

    1. Thanks, Sally. It is gripping, entertaining, and it doesn’t leave you a second to think of anything else, so it’s good if you don’t want to think too much about other things. Thanks for sharing it as well.

        1. I’m always a thriller reader. Having read another one of the author’s novels, I’d say he’s a pretty safe bet. Stay safe! ♥

  4. inese says:

    Great review, Olga. Thriller readers will love the book. Detective doesn’t have to be likable – it is a distraction 😉
    Stay safe you too X

    1. Thanks, Inese. Yes, it’s difficult not to get pulled into the action, and the almost real-time feel of the story helps increase the tension. I know what you mean about the likeability of the detective. Sometimes that’s one of the problems I have with cozy mysteries, that the investigation takes a backseat and most of the story is about the detective and her or his adventures.
      Have a great Easter and stay safe.

  5. inese says:

    It is what I think too:)
    Great author, I have read one of his books in the past – The Fourth Monkey. I think it was your advice I followed, which I always do:)
    Have a lovely Easter you too, Olga.

    1. Thanks, Inese. Yes, The Fourth Monkey was quite a read. He’s not one for boring or slow stories, that’s for sure. Have a nice break. ♥

      1. inese says:

        Thank you <3

  6. dgkaye says:

    Thanks for the introduction to what seems a very intriguing book Olga. Glad I caught this one. I know I’m missing lots <3

    1. Dear Debby, I know how busy you are. It’s good to know you can manage to take a short break from time to time. Stay safe, stay strong, all the best to your husband and hugs to you. ♥

      1. dgkaye says:

        Thank you Olga. I enjoy my tiny stolen moments. <3

        1. I’m sure you do. Big hugs and best wishes. ♥

  7. Sounds wonderful, anything crime and thriller pricks my ears up – good luck.

  8. Fab review, sounds wonderful. I love anything thriller/crime/mystery. Good Luck x

    1. Thanks, Jane. Sorry, the blog is a bit slow to show comments these days. I am also a fan of thrillers/crime and mystery novels. I love other genres as well but seem to read many more on those. This one has plenty of action. Stay safe and happy Easter.

  9. alexcraigie says:

    A full and frank review, Olga! You always write fair and honest reviews that I can trust.

    1. Thanks, Alex. Reviews are subjective things, but I try to give enough details for people to make their own minds up. Have a great Easter and keep safe.

  10. Olga, well done! You write the best reviews! Two years ago, I went to the Chanticleer Reviews Conference in beautiful Bellingham, Washington, and J.D. Barker was the Keynote speaker. He gave three talks during that weekend and one workshop. He is THE NICEST GUY! He availed himself to everyone there throughout the conference and was considerate, accessible, and utterly encouraging to every author there. I’ve read two of his books, and especially loved Dracul, which Bram Stoker’s family hired him to write. Seems the Stocker family gave J.D. Barker a never before seen manuscript to work from. It’s fantastic! So great to see your review!

    1. Thanks, Claire, and lovely to get your first-hand experience of the author. Judging by his author’s note on this novel, he is very humble, and I felt moved by his words about his family and how he felt about COVID-19. Thanks for recommending Dracul. It was on my list for possible future purchase and read, but you’ve bumped it up. I hope you are well and enjoying Easter as much as we all can at the moment. Good luck with your projects and stay safe. ♥

  11. Hi, Olga. I’m sorry I missed this, but glad to stumble upon it at LinkedIn. Thanks for this intriguing review. I usually require a happy ending for my reading, but there is food for thought here. Hugs on the wing!

    1. Thanks, Teagan. It depends on your definition of happy, I guess. With it being an action novel, there are a lot of casualties along the way, for sure. It is not relaxing, but if you’re looking for something to keep your mind occupied, it does its work very well, and it has some pretty interesting characters. Stay safe, dear Teagan.

Don't be shy! Tell me something!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.